Day 5 #The100DayProject

Day 5 Sep 14, 2016

Best dessert in the world Mango Sago Pomelo (楊汁甘露).

Almost two years since I met my wife. I am so surprise she knows very little food around the world. Every time I tell her what is good and I want to have it again and share with her. Such as Mango Sago Pomelo (楊汁甘露) and we will start to have the same conversations below over and over again.

Ann: What is that?

Kenny: You never tried before?

Ann: No, what dose it taste like? 

Kenny: You must try it this time we go to Hong Kong. You will discover a whole new world. It’s hard to describe, but I can tell you in Taiwan we don’t have anything like it. One of the ingredient will be mango. 

Ann: Wondering if we can try it this time. Cause I don’t recognize the food.

Kenny: Don’t worry, I will show you. Shall we go with Camby? (my Hong Kong friend, we lived together for 2 years back in Australia.)

Ann: Sure, I wanna meet him as well. You talked a lot about this guy. I’m curious what his like?

We have this kind of conversations from time to time. I also show her the Kebab Rolls (土耳其捲餅) one of my favorite food, and Cloy Pot Rice (煲仔飯) 1 my fathers’ favorite. The reason I introduced Kebab Rolls (土耳其捲餅) to her was Kebab Rolls (土耳其捲餅) has different meats and veggies which most of the people will reckon as healthy food. Also I worked 2-3 years in a Kebab shop in Brisbane, Australia.

There are no Cantonese wouldn’t like Cloy Pot Rice (煲仔飯) 2 and usually we will order a side veggie Chinese Broccoli w/ Oyster Sauce (芥蘭菜). We don’t have Mango Sago Pomelo (楊汁甘露) in Taiwan, otherwise I definitely will go every week.

By the way, the worst Mango Sago Pomelo (楊汁甘露) I ever had was the one sell at 7-11 in China, and I believe is the same brand you can find in Hong Kong 7-11 convenience store. You can give a try if you doubt what I said.

Wanna make your own Mango Sago Pomelo (楊汁甘露) here is the receipt below:

Mango Sago Pomelo (楊汁甘露) 

Ingredients (Serves 2 large size)
– 400ml mango juice (Torpical Mango fruit juice will be good.)
– 150ml evaporated milk
– 2-3 large ripe honey mangoes, cubed
– honey syrup by mixing 2 tbsp honey with enough water, well mix
– 80-100g sago pearls
– Pomelo, peeled and sacs separated, about 50-200g

These photos were taken at 227甜棧 227 Desserts Tavern, Prince Edward, Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

