Day 37 #The100DayProject

Day 37 Oct 16, 2016

Military service a year at Yuantan Visitor Center was so relaxing and it was my best body condition year.

There are many ways to serve military service in Taiwan due to different positions need. Substitute service is one of many. I spend a year at Zhuqi township. Every day I open Yuantan Visitor Center at 8:30 in the morning and closed at 5:00 in the afternoon. There are many beautiful trails, waterfalls (Summer rain season), birds, flowers and bugs in Alishan area. The most I like about this place are trails and fresh air and I can exercise anytime I want. Inside the Yuantan Visitor Center there is an outdoor botanical garden for all age. People here are friendly. It’s a great place to visit.

Spending a year at this remote area what I could do is take care of my body. I ride my scooter to the gym downtown Chaiyi City every second day. It was a dangerous ride every time. Road is small and bumpy, lots of curves. When it rains the road become very slippery. Two of my colleagues fell in slippery rain condition. Most dangerous is mudslide and it happens often. I have seen rock on the road and the size is triple of a human. A tree block on the middle of the road and locals will use their chainsaws to cut the tree in pieces. Peoples like me will help to move the pieces to the side. Can’t wait for local authority to assist. After rain or dawn it gets really foggy. Especially summer time and I almost run into wall couple times cause I couldn’t see more than 10 feet. There are snakes on the road which was very scary. Lucky I did not get any bite or injure during a year in here. 

45 minutes go down the hill and 60-90 minutes up the hill for a year. My colleague said they were impressive. None of them would like to go up and down that often. It’s really dangerous. I said I need to do something to kill time and I am happy with the resulted I got.

This was my best shape ever, 2014. Can’t go back anymore.

Leave a Reply

